Located in the central-western region of South America. It is organized in nine departments. Its capital is Sucre, 1 seat of the judicial organ; La Paz is the seat of the executive, legislative and electoral bodies, it is also the political, cultural and financial epicenter of the country.

It has a population of about 10.1 million inhabitants according to the last census, of the year 2012. It limits to the north and to the east with Brazil, to the south with Paraguay and Argentina, and to the west with Peru and Chile. In its territory ancient civilizations were developed as Tiwanaku, the Hydraulic Culture of the Lomas, the Moxeña culture, the Aymara Nation that survives to the present. First the Incas and later the Spanish conquerors dominated the territory until the country became independent in 1825. That is why Bolivia in its current state constitution declared itself as a plurinational country by recognizing that in its territory pre-exist several nations whose Origins even predate the arrival of Spanish colonization.

Bolivia is considered a megadiverse country, 50 because it is among the countries in the world with the greatest variety of living beings, ecosystems and genetic differences within each species that allow the combination of multiple forms of life. Its altitudinal gradient, which oscillates between 90 and 6542 meters above sea level, allows for this wide biological diversity.

Its territory includes 4 types of biomes, 32 ecological regions and 199 ecosystems. It highlights the ecosystems of the Amazon, the Yungas), the Chiquitanía, the Chaco and the interandean forests. In this megadiverse geographic space, different natural reserves coexist, such as the national parks: Noel Kempff Mercado, Madidi, Tunari, Eduardo Abaroa, Kaa-Iya, among others.


Good To Know





Languages spoken


Currency used


Time zone


Recommended Tours